Examinations and Assesment


In quest to ensure sound and efficient educational assessment system, the Examination and Assessment Unit is striving to piece and align itself to the mandated policy direction.
In alignment and to realize the essence of quality in students’ achievement part of the policy directions in the current educational reforms mandates the introduction of six external examinations at Year 6, Year 7, Year 8, Year 9, Year 10, Year 11 in addition to the Fiji Year 12 and Fiji Year 13 Certificate Examinations.
The drive gels in cognizant with the principal education outcome which is to “make Fiji a Knowledge Based society and delving expediently with the objective of the government that is to provide the best opportunities for all Fijians to achieve their maximum potential through education and training. Apparently, it soundly depicts the need to ensure sound assessment method in place.   
Assessment and Examination serves its specific functions and are typically designed to measure specific elements of learning. Assessments are also used to identify academic weaknesses and strengths so that educators can define pathway for improvement that takes many forms and requires an assortment of refined strategies and techniques.
Examination plays an indispensable task as it serves important purposes namely:

  1. To identify what students have learned;
  2. To identify students strengths and weaknesses;
  3. To provide a way to measure a teacher and/or school’s effectiveness;
  4. To lead to pedagogical improvement


(i)    Literacy and Numeracy Assessment [LANA] - Current
LANA is a national formative assessment programme that helps to:

  • assess Year 4, 6 and 8 students in their basic skills of Literacy (English) and Numeracy (Mathematics);
  • use the LANA Analysis as a diagnostic tool to provide feedback to students, teachers and parents on students’ learning progress;
  • use an integrated approach to teach and assess literacy and numeracy skills;
  • provide intervention (at individual, school and national level) to improve students’ learning in literacy and numeracy.

(ii)    Year 6, Year 7, Year 8, Year 9, Year 10 and Year 11 External Examinations

  • Summative assessment to measure student’s learning after 6, 7, 8,9,10 and 11 years of school.
  • To ensure standard coverage in all schools.
  • To maintain standard of assessment in all schools.
  • Define pathway for improvement.
  • It’s not an elimination platform so all students would still proceed to the next level

(iii)    Year 12 and 13 Examinations

  • The two examinations are high stake summative assessments to gauge the students’ achievement after 12 and 13 years of schooling.  
  • Assesse the level of competency at that level
  • For selection of students to Higher and Tertiary institutions and prospective employment  

EAU maintains a rich tradition to pursue assessment excellence hence has ventured on to optimize the use of the e platform. Schools with good connectivity now receive e copies of the examination paper for Year 6, Year 7, Year 8, Year 9 and Year 11 level.

The introduced change is perfectly blended with the established practice of assessment to ensure realization of our vision.